World premiere: Deconstruct: Point, line, plane

As part of the London New Wind Festival, Caitlin Rowley’s new composition, Deconstruct: Point, line, plane, will receive its world premiere on 28 September at St Cyprian’s Church in London.

Deconstruct: Point, line, plane is written for flexible ensemble consisting of five instruments plus piano. For this performance, the five instruments will be violin, oboe, clarinet, horn and trombone, but the piece can also be performed by a standard wind quintet or by only strings plus piano, or a range of combinations. While the starting point for the piece’s melodic material is the opening of Janacek’s The Cunning Little Vixen, the piece itself developed through ideas sparked by the composer’s reading of Kandinsky’s theories, especially those expressed at the beginning of Point, line and plane. The work doesn’t attempt to create either a musical representation of Kandinsky’s paintings, or even a direct translation of the artist’s theories, but rather is informed by his ideas of the nature of these basic elements of painting and explores how they intersect in a musical context.

More information about the concert can be found on the Festival’s website. Tickets are available at the door for £8, or £5 concession.

Flyer for 13th London New Wind Festival concert

New performance: London, 6 Nov

Yes, if you missed the performance of Caitlin Rowley’s Pieces of Eight back in September, it’s on again! The London New Wind Festival is performing it again, in a slightly different configuration on Friday 6 November 2009 at 9pm at Regent Hall, 275 Oxford St, London, W1C 2DJ. It’s going to be part of an evening of women’s music, comprising a panel discussion and four concerts and tickets are either £8(5) for individual events or £15(10) for the full event. Hope to see you there!

For more information, visit the London New Wind Festival website (go to concert details then scroll down to the end for the full evening’s programmes).

London premiere for Pieces of Eight

Flyer for London New Wind Festival concert

We are pleased to announce that Caitlin Rowley’s Pieces of Eight will be receiving its London premiere this week as part of the London New Wind Festival in a concert on 21 September called ‘Brand New Music for Winds’. Pieces of Eight will be performed in a new arrangement for oboe, clarinet, horn, trombone, piano and violin, arranged by oboist Catherine Pluygers.

Also on the programme are works by Anthony Green, Meira M Warshauer, Rebecca Oswald, Orie Sato, Dudley Hyam, William Attwood, Philip Cashian and Michael Finnissy.

Tickets are £8 each, with concessions at £5 and the concert will take place at 7.30pm at St Cyprian’s Church, NW1 6AX. For full details, see the London New Wind Festival website under ‘Concert Details’.